What Goes Into Teachers’ Continuous Professional Development (CPD) After Teacher Licensing?

      A lot has been said about the term Continuous Professional Development (CPD) for teachers, but little is known about what goes into it.

      Worse of the circumstances is how teachers are supposed to accumulate their points needed for the renewal of their license.

      Do you know there are some programs or workshops for specific ranks only and attending a wrong program or workshop can be regarded as inappropriate and not counted for your points accumulation?

      Below is the explanation by the National Teaching Council (NTC) regarding what goes into the point building with respect to what goes into the CPD.


      ‘Mandatory programmes:
      These are essential trainings that every teacher is expected to attend through Professional Learning Community (PLC) programmes such as SBI, CBI, DBI.

      Rank based programmes (Community of Practice):
      These are training programmes expected to be attended by teachers in specific ranks, classes, subjects or positions to deal with specific issues in relation to their assigned roles. (School Improvement Officers, Heads of Schools, HODs, Directors of Education, Subject Teachers etc)

      Recommended programmes:
      These are trainings which are recommended by NTC based on needs assessment.

      Portfolio building:
      It is a detailed record of training programmes and activities attended by a teacher within a specified period, that is, between the issuance of the license to its renewal.’

      Visit https://ntc.gov.gh/faqs/ for more Frequently Asked Questions about the CPD as explained by the Natiomal Teaching Council

      Click here to join ALL GNAT MEMBERS on One Telegram Platform

      About Author

      Join our social media platforms

      Join Educative News Room for regular updates about related topics

      Join Telegram or Join WhatsApp or Join Facebook or Join Twitter(X)